Who writes in the middle of the night?

Who writes in the middle of the night?

Does anyone besides me get out of bed to write something down?  This has been a fairly common occurrence for me over the last five years or so. It seems to happen when I am trying to work through a problem, have a parenting issue, decide how to address something, or occasionally, like last night, when I need to write a lesson or develop a presentation.

I am an Environmental Day presenter at our local elementary school this year. Thrilled to be asked (finally),  I agreed to pretty much anything they threw at me. So, I am presenting on Forests.  Truth be known, I would rather present on Monarchs. Monarchs are my thing. I am somewhat of an expert on monarchs.  Don’t get me wrong. Forests are great! It is a pertinent topic for an Earth Day Celebration. We even have a pine tree forest behind the school that need to be used more, and perhaps it will after my talk. But, forests? It is a huge topic! Huge!  It has been hard to narrow down useful, yet fun and age appropriate information for a presentation. There is just so much out there!

Gathering information for months, I am getting closer to what I want to say to 375 students in our K-5 building. A rough outline has been made. Last night, I spent several hours looking at where I could snag some free posters, bookmarks, or  information sheets. I am sure that is why at 2:13 a.m. I was in our laundry room writing down my introductory statements!

I am glad I did because when I awoke this morning, I couldn’t remember the exact phrase that seemed so right in the middle of the night for introducing the forest. In the laundry room, on the counter, are my notes. I know they  will point me in the direction I need to go. This is why I write in the middle of the night! What is your reason?

10 thoughts on “Who writes in the middle of the night?

  1. Wow! what a great idea! I’ve been blessed with good sleeping habits, but if I do wake up I’m going to keep this habit in mind. I really appreciate your last paragraph here with the quick phrases “In the laundry room, on the counter, are my notes” I am so impressed by how thoroughly thought out your presentation is!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure there’s some reason or another why that happens, though I’m not sure what that is. All I know is I’m thankful for it. I guess whatever needs said comes out when it’s ready, no matter what time the clock says. Ha. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

