What a Hoot!

What a Hoot!

Friday, my boys were off from school for the Easter holiday break.  About mid-afternoon, I looked out our back window and saw a white patch in a tree at the edge of the field behind us. The landscape is slowly greening up but the trees have not leafed out yet so seeing something pure white mid-way up a tree was odd.  I wondered what it could be so I got out my binoculars and look a long look.  Ah, it was still too far away.  We have another pair of binoculars – a “real” pair, not the child’s pair I was using initially, so I dug those out of their resting place in the front closet.  Back at the window, the white “thing” was still in the tree, but its shape had shifted.  Now, I knew it was alive, just as I thought!

Staring, dialing in and out of focus using the binoculars, I stood at our living room window for 10-15 minutes, looking for clues about what was in that tree behind our house. This also required a lot of blinking, as my contacts did not respond to being shoved up against a glass lens as I peered into the eyepiece.  In the meantime, my fifteen year old asked what I was up to. When I told him, I spilled what had been on my mind.

“I think there might be a snowy owl in that tree back there, by the edge of the field,”  I told him, excitedly!

“Seriously? Mom.”  he replied, shaking his head. But, he got up off the couch to take a look.  My boys are used to my nature–based escapades and frequently indulge my thoughts, if only to prove me wrong, as time permits. At this point, I went to get my camera to try to zoom in close enough to prove it was indeed an owl, a snowy owl!

The camera didn’t help, but then my son said, “Do you want me to go out there and take a closer look?”

“Sure,” I said. “Take the binoculars with you.”

IMG_0073

A few minutes later, he was waving to me.  I went outside, taking the camera with me, hopeful.  He shouted something. I couldn’t hear it.

“What is it?”  I shouted back.

“Well, it’s not an owl, mom. It’s our neighbor’s cat!”

A half hour spent – looking, wondering, snapping photos, enlisting the help of a reluctant teen and hoping, just to find out the white patch in the tree behind our house was our neighbor’s cat!

What a hoot!

Oh, yeah. Our neighbors do have a white cat. Obviously, I was hoping for something more exciting.

 

 

3 thoughts on “What a Hoot!

Leave a Reply

