What I’ve learned about Procrastination

What I’ve learned about Procrastination

This semester I have learned a little about procrastination. Never considering myself to be one in the past, I can now claim the title of Procrastinator!   Since this is really not something to brag about, and I’d like to return to my pre-procrastinator state, I thought I’d share some of my observations.

  1. It’s easier to put things off when they don’t interest you.  For example, I really need to clean my closet. There are piles upon piles of old course work, out grown clothes, and snow boots that need to be put away.  Although I think about this task each time I enter my closet, which is several times a day, it is still left undone.
  2. Do not agree to be a speaker unless you really know the subject matter. This Friday is Environmental Day at our local elementary school. Having been the garden club facilitator for 12 years, I have always wanted to be asked to be a presenter at this event. This year, my wish came true and I am presenting! Excited? Yes. Anxious? A little. Since I am a self-taught expert on Monarch Conservation, I would be very comfortable talking about that subject. But, alas, I am speaking about Forests. Don’t get me wrong, forests are important! However, the topic is huge and there are 6 grade levels for which I will present.  It has been hard to whittle down what needs to be said in a way kindergartener will understand, but 5th graders won’t be bored. Oh, and I have 35 minutes per presentation. Let’s just say that after I make my Slice of Life post today, I’ll be working on my presentation.  I think I’ve determined that I need two levels of content (K-2 and 3-5).  The old saying “be careful what you wish for” is all that comes to mind.  I hope I can remember that in the future!  My dream of being a presenter has been dulled by my procrastination due to the subject matter and a feeling of inadequacy.
  3. It is easier to procrastinate when you are tired. I’m not sure anything more needs to be said about this. You are tired, so you put it off for another day.  It becomes a vicious cycle.
  4. Procrastination begets procrastination. This is entirely what I am afraid of happening!  Having never been a procrastinator, I don’t care for the feeling I have knowing I have become one this semester. I want to break the cycle. Luckily, with my term ending Friday and the presentations finished on the same day, I feel I have a chance to break the cycle of procrastination.

Maybe it’s just time to fulfill these obligations, get some rest, and move on to something else, something that interests me, and something I am comfortable with talking about. My next course doesn’t start until the end of May and my next speaking engagement is in July.  I think I have learned some things that will help me avoid being a procrastinator! At least, I hope so!

8 thoughts on “What I’ve learned about Procrastination

  1. I make procrastination work for me so a little effort eventually becomes a big effort. Procrastination was a big struggle during student teaching because of state and district-mandated curriculum that I didn’t agree with, but we can do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG, procrastination is my middle name except for when it’s “grace” due to my clumsiness. I love to have kiddos look at tree rings to estimate age of trees – a bit of active learning but yes, having two different presentations will be good!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. After reading your blog over the past weeks, I know that your presentation will be wonderful! Your passion for the subject will shine through the presentation!
    I completely agree with you that procrastination is a vicious cycle:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you very much for sharing your experience! It definitely is helpful for every reader because we all are familiar with procrastination! There’s no easy way to deal with it but we can always try our best.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

