Tea: A Poem of Comfort

Tea: A Poem of Comfort

via Daily Prompt: Tea 

I am not sure I could live without my cup of tea.

Warm,

relaxing,

amber to saddle in color,

steeped endlessly in my mug,

But, only of the black variety.

Herbals, Oolong, Green, Fruity,

none satisfy like the first cup of Black

in the morning light.

Tea.

A remnant of my adolescence,

young adulthood,

and middle age,

fixed with those who consumed beside me.

Always available.

A friend that soothes with the nearly

tasteless bitterness that flows down my throat

and warms me from the inside.

No cream. No sugar. No Lemon. Black.

Hot preferred to Iced.

Tea.

Almost always,

making the day better.

And, I am not even English!

Leave a Reply

